Furnishing Alcohol to Minors
Alcohol possession by a minor and furnishing alcohol to a minor are illegal and punishable by various penalties – and both can cause serious problems for you or your family, should you be involved in either offense.
If you've been charged with either of these crimes, your freedom and your future may be in jeopardy. Do not take chances -- you need the Austin, TX DWI defense attorneys at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins, P.C. Call us today at (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email. Our lawyers handle alcohol-related offenses in Travis, Williamson, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Burnet and Comal counties.
According to the Texas Alcohol Beverage Code, a minor is defined as someone under 21 years of age, and the laws surrounding minors and alcohol are as follows:
Purchase of alcohol/attempt to purchase by a minor
A minor who purchases or tries to purchase alcohol may be penalized by:
- Community service
- Driver's license suspension for 30 days for a first offense, 60 days for a second offense and 180 days for a third offense
- Attendance at an alcohol-awareness course
A minor who has been previously convicted of alcohol offenses twice faces even stiffer penalties:
- Fine ranging from $250 to $2,000
- Jail time of up to 180 days – for which the minor will be placed on deferred adjudication
Sale of alcohol to a minor
An adult who sells alcohol to a minor is subject to charges, unless the minor provides a Texas driver's license for identification which appears to be valid.
- Fine of up to $4,000
- Jail time up to one year
Consumption/Possession of alcohol by a minor
- A minor who consumes or possesses alcohol may face the same penalties as for purchase – unless he or she consumes or possesses the alcohol in the presence of an adult parent, legal guardian or spouse.
Purchase of alcohol for a minor
- A person who purchases alcohol for a minor is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor, unless that person is the adult parent, legal guardian or spouse of the minor AND the minor consumes the alcohol in his or her presence.
If you or your child has been charged with these alcohol-related offenses, you need experienced legal representation on your side to minimize the damage to your family and your reputation. The lawyers at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins have handled alcohol offenses for Texans throughout the state. We understand how courts evaluate the evidence and factors surrounding charges involving a minor, and we leverage our knowledge to prepare an effective case strategy. We don't want you or your child's future to be ruined, and we will work hard on your family's behalf to ensure that justice is served.
If you or your child has been charged with an alcohol/minor offense, contact the Texas drunk driving attorneys at MBFC now by calling (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email. We will defend your rights and reputation.
We have 45 years of experience representing clients in Austin, TX and the surrounding communities, including: Travis County (Creedmoor, Elroy, Manor, Pflugerville); Williamson County (Cedar Park, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Florence, Leander, Round Rock, Taylor); Hays County (Buda, Dripping Springs, Kyle, San Marcos, Wimberley); Bastrop County (Bastrop, Clearview, Elgin, Rockne, Smithville); Caldwell County (Lockhart, Luling); Burnet County (Bertram, Burnet, Marble Falls); and Comal County (Bulverde, Canyon Lake, Gruene, New Braunfels, Sattler, Startzville).