Texas Driver’s License Point And Surcharge System
If you have been stopped for suspicion of drinking and driving, and you are arrested for an alcohol-related offense it can be referred to as driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). Either way, it is a serious criminal offense. Individuals convicted in the state of Texas of DUI or DWI face possible jail time, a suspension of their driver’s license, as well as fines and higher insurance premiums. Texas uses a point and surcharge system as one means to deter drunk driving, and the fees can be high. If you have been charged with drunk driving, or any alcohol-related offense, you need the Austin, Texas DWI defense attorneys at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins, P.C. to help defend your rights.
Call us today at (512) 476-4873 or contact us via email for help with your legal case.
The system used in Texas to assess points and surcharges against your driver’s license is referred to as the Driver Responsibility law. Part of the Texas Transportation Code, the law allows for a surcharge, or an administrative fee, to be charged to a driver based on the convictions reported to the driving record. These charges or points can also increase your insurance rates.
Points are assessed to moving traffic violation convictions. Once
the conviction has been added to the driver’s record, points will
be assigned and will remain on the record for a period of three
years. Points are assigned as follows:
- 2 points for a Texas or out-of-state moving violation conviction;
- 3 points for a Texas or out-of-state moving violation conviction that resulted in a crash.
A surcharge will be assessed when the driver accumulates a total of 6 points or more on his or her record. The driver is required to pay a $100 surcharge for the first six points and $25 for each additional point. The driver’s record will be reviewed annually, and if it continues to reflect 6 or more points, the surcharge will be assessed.
Drivers may be required to pay for one or more years. Point surcharges may vary with each annual assessment as convictions are added to or removed from the record.
Drivers who receive a conviction for one of the offenses below will pay an annual surcharge for a period of three years from the date of conviction. No points are assessed for these offenses because the surcharge is automatic upon conviction.
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)
- 1st offense - $1,000;
- 2nd or additional offenses - $1,500;
- DWI with blood alcohol concentration of 0.16 or greater - $2,000.
No Insurance - $ 250.
Driving with Invalid License - $ 250.
No Driver’s License -$ 100.
Contact Us Today
If you've been arrested for a DWI or DUI, don't put your freedom or future in jeopardy. You need the expertise of the Austin, Texas criminal defense attorneys at Minton, Burton, Bassett, & Collins, P.C. Let our Board Certified Criminal Law Specialists put decades of experience to work for you. Contact us for a confidential consultation through our online form or by phone at (512) 476-4873.
We represent clients charged with DWIs and DUIs in Austin, TX and the surrounding communities, including: Hays County (Buda, Dripping Springs, Kyle, San Marcos, Wimberley); Travis County (Creedmoor, Elroy, Manor, Pflugerville); Williamson County (Cedar Park, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Florence, Leander, Round Rock, Taylor); Bastrop County (Bastrop, Clearview, Elgin, Rockne, Smithville); Comal County (Bulverde, Canyon Lake, Gruene, New Braunfels, Sattler, Startzville); Burnet County (Bertram, Burnet, Marble Falls); and Caldwell County (Lockhart, Luling).
Texas Driver’s Handbook